Sheep Zen

I’m still working on the look of the site. I’ve got a few things I’d like to see, and I’m going to try and come up with a really nifty textile picture for the top at least. I’d also like to have a place on the sidebar for textile links and such. We’ll see how much hacking I feel like doing!

Wednesday I went over to Cat’s house to learn to spin (drop spindle) and it went so much better than I thought it would! I don’t mean that I thought hanging out with Cat (aka “Eilidh”) would not be awesome. I thought learning to sping was going to be a long grueling process that I would hate. I’m not really sure why I thought that. I guess because the last couple of times I’ve tried spinning it was grueling and took a long time.

Turns out spinning IS really fun! Especially if you have a really good teacher who shows you the secrets. The “secret” is to prepare your fiber! And having good stuff to work with makes it even easier. ^_^

I mostly worked with some blue roving that Miriam sent me (thanks Mirm!). I suspect that this roving spent some time in a dyebath (aka “crockpot”), which would account for the pretty blue color, but would also explain the slight felting. It didn’t seem to matter though. Cat and I pulled it apart and fluffed it up and it seemed to work just fine. I mostly spun worsted yarn with the blue roving, but Cat let me use a little of her alpaca fiber too and that was SO easy to spin! It was almost spinning itself. Cat also showed me how woolen yarn is spun and how it differs from worsted. So educational! ^_^

If it sounds like I’m really smart, it’s because I double checked my vocabulary on Wikipedia. I remembered the differences and how they’re made, but I couldn’t remember which one was worsted and which was woolen. ^_^;; But now I know!

I also got to try combing for the first time. It was surprisingly Zen. I say “surprisingly” because it was like “WHACK! Zennnn….” No, I didn’t injure myself. I stopped mid-sentance and went “Woa.” And then there was harp music and butterflies and sunshine.

Perhaps I exaggerate a little, but it was still really groovy.

The combs you use for this are basically wooden handles with GIANT nails sticking out of them at a 90 degree angle. You put some wool on one of them and comb it off with the other. And then you back the other way, and keep doing this until the fibers are going the same direction. I swear, it’s very zen.

In other textile news: I’ve been invited to a Halloween party on Sunday, so I might have to whip up some sort of costume… I’ve got an idea of what I’d like to do, and it’s totally adorable. And a little silly. I’ll post pictures! ^_^

One response to “Sheep Zen

  1. I got that roving ages ago at the Puyallup fair. But it must have been handdyed by them, and thus why I got it cheap. It may also have been felted because it was kept in a plastic bag. Yes, ladies, do dot keep your roving (less it be superwash) for the plastic shall surely felt it.

Leave a Reply

